Ray Evernham Voted ‘The Greatest Crew Chief,’

CHARLOTTE — An audience of wide-eyed fans squeezed between vintage race cars and watched the pit crew for driver David Reutimann change four tires in roughly 12 seconds Tuesday at the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

In a director’s chair nearby was the man most responsible for turning pit crewmembers into physically fit professional athletes whose lightning-fast service could make the difference in winning Sprint Cup races.

Ray Evernham, though, tried to deflect the credit.
“It’s not that I was innovative,” Evernham said after swapping tales about the evolution of the pit stop with fellow championship crew chiefs Dale Inman (Richard Petty, Terry Labonte) and Kirk Shelmerdine (Dale Earnhardt) and legendary car owner Leonard Wood (whose team is credited with inventing the pit stop). “A lot of people had dabbled but didn’t believe in it. We got everybody to believe in it and got it done.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s